Trinbago Knight Riders – The Champions of CPL 2018

Trinbago Knight Riders, the first team to win the title two successive times in CPL as they beat Guyana Amazon Warriors by eight wickets in CPL18 Grand Finale, in front of a huge home crowd in Trinidad. Knight Riders started with a first ball wicket after opting to bowl first and finished the chase relatively easily with Munro and McCullum scored bulk of the runs. TKR chased down a sub-par target of 148 with fifteen balls to spare. Munro was their star once again with the bat who scored an unbeaten 68.
Irrespective of losing Delport in the first ball of the innings, Warriors had a strong start as they managed 52 runs in 6.2 overs. Luke Ronchi top scored with 44 had given them a much-needed start but rest the batsmen failed to contribute with big scores in the Grand Finale. Jason Mohammed was the only other batsman who scored above 20 runs in their innings.  Ronchi lost his wicket in 11th over caught by Darren Bravo in Pierre’s over with 79 runs on board. Warriors lost their five wickets in next five overs which reduced them to 109/8.  Shepherd, Emrit, and Tahir added 38 runs for the final two wickets to take them to decent total in the first half of the game. Pierre took 3 wickets in his four overs was well supported by all the TKR bowlers.
TKR started the chase comfortably scoring 52 runs for the first wicket partnership in just 6.4 overs. McCullum was the first one to depart for 24 balls 39 followed by Ramdin. They were already in a comfortable position in their chase to defend the title with 87/2 at that stage.
The final, like in the previous edition of CPL belongs to Munro. His special love for T20 big game was on display once again. He scored an unbeaten 68 in just 39 balls with three huge sixes. Munro smashed Emrit for 27 runs in 17th over which saw his 6th fifty of the tournament with a huge six. He then finished the chase with a boundary in 18th over to bring another CPL title to his team.
Joy for the home crowd at Trinidad as Knight Riders won their third CPL title. Munro – Man of the Series, had an excellent tournament. Six fifties in CPL18 and 68* to finish in the final. Remember, he scored 66* in the grand finale of the last edition too. What a player he has been for TKR. There is no better sight in T20 cricket when players like Munro and McCullum are in full flow.
That draws curtains to another exciting edition of Caribbean Premier League. New heroes, so many exciting games, close finishes, and the same Champions – The Mightly Knight Riders.

Leave a Comment