Mayank, Siraj rewarded

India rewarded Mayank Agarwal and Mohammad Siraj with maiden Test call-ups for Windies Tests. MSK Prasad led selection panel announced the 15 member Test squad to take on windies. The Test series will start on October 4 at Rajkot with the second match scheduled on October 12 at Hyderabad.

India didn’t include openers Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan, while KL Rahul and Prithvi Shaw are retained. Mayank had a scintillating Ranji season last year scoring 1160 runs in eight matches. Siraj has been a┬áconsistent performer for India A and domestic matches.

Dinesh Karthik is dropped and Rishabh Pant retains his place in the team. Another major change is the pace bowling lineup with India resting Ishant(Injury), Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jaspirt Bumrah. Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav along with Mohammad Siraj will do the bowling duties. Hardik Pandya is also not considered.

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (C), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur

Leave a Comment