Hosts and defending champions Windies announce squad for World T20

Hosts and defending champions Windies announced their squad for World T20 Today. They have retained 11 players from the squad that succesfully won the previous edition of the tournament. The uncapped Sheneta Grimmond gets her maiden call up to the T20 squad. Team will be led by Stafanie Taylor, who won the Player of the Series when Windies clinched their title last time.

“Captaining the West Indies in the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 is both a huge honor and a massive challenge,” Taylor said. “It will obviously be a great feeling to lead the team at home, but one has to also live up to expectations of being defending champions. we have a great squad with several potential match winners, but we will have to be at our best in each and every match if we want to lift the trophy again.”

“The announcement of the squad makes me realize that the tournament is almost upon us. The opposition squads are really impressive and this promises to be a highly competitive tournament. I really hope that Windies fans can come out and support us as we strive to defend our title on home soil,”

Windies will start their campaign with a match against Bangladesh on November 9.

Windies squad: Stafanie Taylor (c), Afy Fletcher, Anisa Mohammed, Britney Cooper, Chedean Nation, Chinelle Henry, Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews, Kycia Knight, Merissa Aguilleira, Natasha McLean, Shakera Selman, Shamilia Connell, Shemaine Campbelle, Sheneta Grimmond

Leave a Comment